Home »


The Governing Body


The Governing Body is responsible for raising school standards by fulfilling these responsibilities:

  • Setting the school's vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Our Full Governing Body (FGB) meets eight times a year. The Finance, Personnel, Buildings and Health & Safety Committee meets five timesĀ  a year and other committees meet regularly or on an ad hoc basis. We are volunteers who all share a commitment to improving learning at Great Tew. We represent the school's main stakeholder groups - parents, staff, Local Authority and the community. Essential training builds on the skills governors arrive with.

Collectively the FGB monitors progress against targets set in the School Development Plan (SDP) - the SDP is at the heart of the school improvement drive. The head teacher, staff and governors identify priorities, key actions and success criteria.

We currently have 13 members of our governing body:

(click on names in coloured font for biographical note)

Jane Zibarras, Co-opted Governor and Chair

The Chair can be contacted at chair.2104@great-tew.oxon.sch.uk

Naomi Roberts, Co-opted and Vice Chair

Lucy Miles, Headteacher

Peter Collins, Associate Member

Leona Webster-Edge, Parent Governor

Craig MacDonald, Parent Governor

Charlie Wigan, Parent Governor

Lauren Nimmo, Staff Governor

Cathy Higgins, Co-opted Governor

Matt Bull, Co-opted Governor

Una Tibbetts, Associate Member

Angela Murrey, Associate Member

Clive Keeble, Local Authority Governor

Clerk: Keith Bossom